Skip to content

The Port-A-Potty

August 26, 2011

As I have mentioned in a few previous posts, my wife and I traveled down to Atlantic City a number of weekends this summer in order to spend time with friends and family. My in-laws have a beautiful house near the beach and even when we have no plans, there is nothing but endless activity to occupy your interests.

My father-in-law and I like to sit on the front stoop and watch people unload and load all of their beach gear. It truly is never-ending madness as car after car pulls up and attempts to turn around amidst traffic. But this year, we had a new element added to the excitement. Right around Memorial Day, construction workers broke ground and began to build a house across the street. Ever since the construction work started, there has been a port-a-potty on the site.

Please keep in mind that I am writing this story in August. I am pretty sure that it has not been cleaned/emptied once all summer, yet day in and day out, people of all ages and sizes continue to frequent the restroom. I don’t know about you readers out there, but I loathe mobile restrooms. I have seen my fair share considering I have been to the Preakness a number of times and witnessed the infamous “running of the urinals.”

And let me continue by saying that this construction has been going on ALL summer; not spring, nor fall, nor winter. It has been dreadfully hot, and one can only imagine the gross odors and bacteria and who knows what else growing in there. There is most likely one of those creatures from Star Wars rummaging around underneath there ready to snatch a person up on a minute’s notice.

And while all of that is fine and good for those who don’t mind using the port-a-potty, I still will never understand how they have yet to witness and make use of the largest, most refreshing public restroom on the planet, the ocean. And before you judge me, think really hard as to whether you’ve ever done it or not.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

