Skip to content

The Brewery

August 16, 2011

We took a trip to New York City this past weekend to visit our old stomping grounds and see some friends. And although we lived in the New York area for over two years, we still have a number of things on our “tourist checklist” we want to cross off before we die.

One of those is/was the Brooklyn Brewery in the neighborhood of Williamsburg located in (you guessed it) Brooklyn. I would just like to say that if you have never been to Brooklyn get ready to discover a land where the 1980s never died.

We had a great time at the brewery. You pay $20 for six wooden tokens and each token gets you a beer (they typically are 5% alcohol or greater, so six tokens is more than enough). They had some very high-percentage beers that required two tokens, but I wasn’t about to dance that dance.

We happened to visit the brewery on a Saturday, so it got quite busy. However, we were fortunate enough to get a table after standing around some poor people who were getting ready to leave, just like a shark circles its prey. And after a few card games and beers, I of course had to use the restroom.

By all appearances, the bathroom was in normal order for a large brewery that acted as a bar. There were two stalls and four urinals, but here is what I didn’t like: the urinals on the wall had no splashguards.

The problem with this is that someone always wants to strike up a conversation like we are at a town hall meeting. I am not in the bathroom to hear what someone has to say about Derek Jeter or what beers they’ve been drinking or their plans for after.

I didn’t know one person that talked to me and it happened each time I went to the restroom. To put it bluntly, I have no use for discussing anything with another man while relieving myself and I am not sure where people get the audacity to do so.

Please bars, restaurants, breweries, and all other businesses with public restrooms, install some splashguards. They can’t possibly be that expensive, and they will keep some customers lingering longer because they won’t have to listen to someone else’s bulls**t. Although, I guess there is no other more appropriate place.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. DadofJessJacandJers permalink
    August 17, 2011 8:44 AM

    Great comments! I also never understood the urinal chatter. A well placed ” why are you talking to me” look usually works. The other issue with no slash guards is, of course the unwanted splash!

  2. August 18, 2011 8:44 PM

    Haha, I like the why are you talking to me line. I could definitely see you doing that. I also like your handle!

Leave a Reply

