Skip to content

The Recliner

August 2, 2011

Again this bathroom documentation took place in Atlantic City, also at the Tropicana, and also in The Quarter. One of the places we really like to go is called Red Square, a  Russian themed bar and restaurant on the lower level.

There are a few reasons we really like this place, but         mostly it is for the ambience and drinks. They make an incredible black and white Russian that comes with a piece of white chocolate floating on top (I never get to eat it – my wife grabs it out of the drink before I ever even take a sip). On most occasions, my wife gets the champagne with strawberries or raspberries, whichever they have that evening.

The bar is also very unique as it has a layer of ice underneath it that always keeps your drinks cold. There is a vast display of vodka and they even have a walk-in vodka freezer that you can rent out. I have been told they provide you with fur coats to make the whole experience “authentic.”

But on this particular occasion, none of that mattered. I became fixated with the restrooms. Firstly, they are hidden down a long hallway. Once you get to end, there are anywhere from five to seven doors leading off this dark hallway. Each room holds one toilet, a nice countertop and sink, a mirror, and a recliner situated right next to the toilet.

What really bothered me was this: not only had I never seen a sitting chair located next to a commode, but it was a nice leather recliner. The first thought that came to my mind was that these bathrooms were for more than just relieving yourself. Immediately, my thoughts began to wander and before I knew it I was picturing people using these restrooms for sex acts and drug usage. Why else would they be so private?

My suspicions have never been confirmed – and some of you might think I am being a bit outlandish – but seriously, what the hell do you need a recliner for? Also, who would want to actually sit in it? It is probably no more than 12 inches away from the toilet and that to me is plain gross. In short, the bar/restaurant is a great place with awesome drinks and really weird, scandalous bathrooms, with recliners.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. raw permalink
    August 2, 2011 1:26 PM

    gregg, actually laughed out loud. struck a funny bone there. next time in ac i’ll have to check out this place.

  2. August 2, 2011 9:29 PM

    thanks, raw! looking forward to seeing you this weekend. drinks are expensive so be prepared.

Leave a Reply

